Transcontinental Crossing

Standard

‘Not all who wander are lost’, was the motto of my last big adventure on the bike. This amazingly satisfying adventure has ended more than a year ago, so it was about time to seek another great taste of the living life on cycling tubes. Somewhere in 2013, Europe will be crossed by bike from Amsterdam to Istanbul in a big five weeks. It sounds crazy to you, doesn’t it!? Well, I’ll tell you eventually. At the moment, the only item which is heavily ready for it, is my mind. The rest will follow, hopefully…

In few words, the plan is as follows: the first small 1000k involves one of my male ancestors. I’ll be followed by my semi-old but fit dad! All the way from Amsterdam, the Netherlands to Berlin, Germany, he will share his intoxicating wisdoms of life with me. Hopefully, the more asphalt we conquer the shallower will be the depth of common sense… Anyway, after the enlightenment of age is put in the train back to the flattest country ever, I’ll be on my own, immersing myself and my new Thorn, Zedd, in I don’t know exactly what yet. With my devoted on-wheels companion, I’ll cross Poland, Ukraine, Moldavia, Romania, Bulgaria to end up in Istanbul, Turkey. It will be a hell of a ride. I’ll tell you afterwards where the daydreaming is best. No promises. It’s probably too far for one human bag of bones and one bike in five weeks, but it’s just a plan to catch fresh air and have exultant happiness. And plans can change so easily. This adventure of cycling along Europe’s best sausages is called the ‘Transcontinental Crossing’, an amazing original designation, isn’t it!?

Flowers at sunset during training…

IMG_2615

Sharing the good stuff. Marveling through summer time. Continental food. Outdoor pain. Big sky horizons. Rains drops as big as cats and dogs. Smooth tailwind. Nothing but dominant nature. Overwhelming descends. Fantastic smiles.  Open air fires with great conversations. And above all the cherished butt pain… Excited!? Then settle down and let me know (travelingcycles@yahoo.com). This blog is about sharing adventures, stories, and passions, inspired by whatever they are. Few words, a sentence, a colorful photo, that’s all I can give you via this interface. I’m happy to announce that I’ll take the opportunity to add a new human-powered outdoor adventure to my young life!

Comments are closed.