Pothole Poland

Standard

OK, let’s say something positive about Poland. They do have some very nice asphalt around the potholes. That has to be said. There aren’t only potholes, like clear and deep places where asphalt is lacking, but there are also spots where the asphalt seemed to have been fluid for some time after which it has been pushed upwards. It’s like cycling on an old volcanic lava stream. Anyway, I survived and in short, Poland isn’t made for cyclists. It’s made for people who like sausages, mow lawns, shave heads of Polish males, and above all drive like mad…

Auschwitz is an incredible, strong and weird experience. I parked my bike in the garage of a local hotel and joined an English-speaking tour in the unavoidable baking sun. After hearing and seeing few of the most barbarian stories in the history of ‘modern’ human beings by a lovely French woman, I was confronted at the end of the tour by a 2 ton pile of human hair. It was saved up to be used as wool for clothes and carpets. No one talked anymore. No one could add any word to History. Fully empty, it was time to confront myself with my surreal fate, meaning cycling with a credit card in my pocket in a luxurious world…

And all that luxury came to me by just going on. I entered the globe of Krakow. Wow! I took it all there. First, one Polish beer! Air conditioning in a big shopping mall. Ice cream till it flowed out of my nostrils. Coffees till I couldn’t sleep anymore in my huge hotel room. We live in a very very weird place…

Enjoy life!

Comments are closed.