The Planted Seed: Quest for Freedom

Standard

In 1995, adventurous Göran Kropp left his hometown in Sweden heading for Mount Everest. On a bike! The following year in April, he arrived in Nepal. His second attempt in May to conquer Everest solo and without supplementary oxygen was successful. Very very crazy guy! I absorbed this tale when I was a bit younger than now with admiration and disbelief, and I always thought this couldn’t be a human journey. Anyway, the seed was planted… In 2013, I wanted to cycle to Mount Elbrus and ascend it, but due to safety issues in the Caucasus I changed my plans for that year. This summer, I’ll try to do my Kroppedian approach of a three weeks off. I’ll attempt to cycle on my Thorn from my hometown in the Netherlands to Chamonix in the French Alps. Chamonix is the French gateway to the highest summits of Western Europe. From there on, I’ll join a group of eight enthusiasts to first ascend the Gran Paradiso in Italy followed by the climb of the Mont Blanc from the French side. Although this trip is small and done in my own way, it still reminds me a lot of this crazy Swede… In one week, I’ll leave! So much life and freedom to look forward to! I could talk for hours about the subject of freedom and the mind (that’s for a guy like me not more than few long minutes), but let’s not talk and waste time, just watch this video from Get Out There Productions and you will know me so much better…

Enjoy summer time!!!

 

Comments are closed.